Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Abonnez-vous à notre bulletin
Global Fund Publishes Eligibility List for Round 11
GFO Issue 152

Global Fund Publishes Eligibility List for Round 11


David Garmaise

Article Type:

Article Number: 1

ABSTRACT According to the Round 11 country eligibility list, published by the Global Fund, 78 countries have a history of recent funding for one or more of the disease or HSS components - thus rendering them ineligible to apply in Round 11 for those components. Applicants may be able to apply for an exemption to the recent funding criterion by submitting a pre-proposal (called a "proposal concept") by 22 July 2011.

Seventy-eight countries may be ineligible to apply for one or more disease or HSS components because they have a history of recent funding

These countries may be able to request an exemption to the history of recent funding criterion, but must do so by 22 July 2011

According to the Global Fund Secretariat, 78 countries have a history of recent funding for one or more of the disease or HSS components, thus rendering them ineligible to apply in Round 11 for those components – unless they qualify under one of the exceptions to the history of recent funding criterion. Applicants seeking an exemption under this criterion must submit a pre-proposal (called a “proposal concept”) by 22 July 2011.

Under the recent funding history criterion, if an applicant has an existing Global Fund grant for a particular disease or HSS component for which the implementation start date was after 15 December 2010 – i.e., within 12 months of the closing date for Round 11 proposals – the applicant is not eligible to submit a Round 11 proposal for the same disease or HSS component. There are two exceptions to this rule: (1) where the Round 11 proposal has a different geographical coverage compared to the existing grant; and (2) where the proposal calls for the roll-out of new technical guidance requiring significant investment. (See GFO article on the history of recent funding criterion here.)

The information on the number of countries with a history of recent funding is contained in the country eligibility list for Round 11 recently issued by the Global Fund. The list is available on the Fund’s website here. The list details the eligibility of countries that might wish to apply as single-country applicants in the general pool or the targeted pool with respect to four criteria: (1) income level, (2) disease burden, (3) the OECD-DAC filter, and (4) history of recent funding. (The OECD-DAC is the Development Assistance Committee of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. The OECD-DAC filter applies only to HIV proposals.)

IMPORTANT CAVEAT: The Global Fund Secretariat cautions that it developed the eligibility list for information purposes only; that the list is based on the Secretariat’s best estimates at the time it was issued; that applicants should check the information on the eligibility list against the eligibility requirements as set out in the Global Fund’s Eligibility, Counterpart Financing and Prioritization Policy (available here; see “new policy”); and that, in the event of any inconsistency between the eligibility list and the requirements as set out in the policy, the policy shall prevail.

The following is a list of the countries identified by the Global Fund as having a history of recent funding for one or more of the disease or HSS components. The relevant components are shown in parentheses.

Afghanistan (TB, HSS)

Angola (HIV, TB, malaria)

Argentina (HIV)

Armenia (TB)

Bangladesh (TB)

Belarus (TB)

Belize (HIV, HSS)

Burkina Faso (HIV)

Cambodia (HIV)

Cameroon (HIV, TB, malaria)

Cape Verde (malaria)

Central African Republic (TB, malaria)

China (malaria)

Columbia (HIV, TB)

Comoros (HIV, HSS)

Congo (HIV, TB)

Cote d’Ivoire (HIV)

Dem. Rep. of Congo (TB, malaria, HSS)

Djibouti (TB, malaria)

Ecuador (HIV, TB)

Eritrea (HIV, TB, HSS)

Ethiopia (TB, HSS)

Georgia (HIV, TB)

Ghana (TB)

Guatemala (malaria)

Guinea (HIV, malaria, HSS)

Haiti (TB, malaria)

Honduras (HIV, TB)

Indonesia (TB, HSS)

Iran (malaria)

Jordan (TB)

Kazakhstan (HIV)

Kenya (HIV, TB, malaria)

Kosovo (TB)

Kyrgyzstan (HIV, TB)

Lao (TB)

Lesotho (HIV)

Liberia (TB, malaria, HSS)

Malawi (malaria)

Malaysia (HIV)

Mali (TB, malaria)

Mauritania (HSS)

Mexico (HIV)

Mongolia (TB, HSS)

Morocco (HIV, TB)

Mozambique (HIV, malaria, HSS)

Myanmar (HIV, TB, malaria)

Namibia (TB)

Nepal (HIV)

Niger (TB, HSS)

Nigeria (TB)

Pakistan (HIV, malaria)

Papua New Guinea (HIV, HSS)

Peru (HIV)

Russian Federation (TB)

Sao Tome & Principe (HIV)

Senegal (TB, malaria)

Sierra Leone (malaria)

Somalia (TB, malaria, HSS)

South Africa (HIV)

Sri Lanka (HIV, HSS)

Sudan North (HIV, malaria)

Sudan South (malaria)

Swaziland (TB)

Syrian Arab Republic (HIV)

Thailand (HIV, TB, malaria)

Timor-Leste (HIV, malaria)

Togo (malaria)

Uganda (HIV, TB, malaria, HSS)

Ukraine (HIV, TB)

Tanzania (malaria, HSS)

Uruguay (HIV)

Uzbekistan (HIV)

Viet Nam (HIV, TB, HSS)

Yemen (TB)

Zambia (HIV)

Zanzibar (TB)

Zimbabwe (malaria)

Note: The Secretariat said that Mali’s status concerning history of recent funding for HIV has yet to be determined.

Applicants that wish to submit a concept proposal can obtain the necessary form from the Global Fund Secretariat.

In addition to listing the countries and components where there is a history of recent funding, the eligibility list provides the following information:

  • Income level. Each country is categorised as low income, lower lower middle income, upper lower middle income, or upper middle income.
  • OECD-DAC filter. Each country is categorised as “yes” (on the OECD-DAC list); “no” (not on the list); or “not applicable.”
  • Disease burden. Each disease component for each country is categorised as having a “low,” moderate,” high,” “severe” or “extreme” disease burden.
  • Funding pool. For each disease component for each country, the list indicates whether the country is eligible to apply for that component in the general pool or in the targeted pool. (For each component, countries can apply in one pool or the other, providing they meet the eligibility requirements, but not both.)

The eligibility list also provides a partial “pre-TRP” prioritisation score for each country and disease component. The prioritisation criteria will be invoked only if there is insufficient money available to fund all TRP-recommended proposals. The criteria are based on a scoring system; points are awarded for three factors: the TRP technical merit rating, the country’s income level and the country’s disease burden for that particular disease. The partial prioritisation score shown in the eligibility list is based on income level and disease burden only; the TRP technical merit rating won’t be known until after the TRP reviews all Round 11 proposals.

Tags :

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.